to
Price
USD $580.00
Available Dates
image

USD $ 580.00 / month

$580 16th st. heights gem
REMOVED
Detailed Description

Hello! We are a fun and engaging group (composed of both straight and queer identifying people) who occupy a magnificent and majestic castle on Buchanan St. NW. Two of our house mates have a great opportunity in St. Louis and are moving out. So proud and exited for them, but we're looking for two more housemate to join our ranks! Looking for an June 1st move in (but could move in as early as May 23rd). Rent is $580 a month, plus utilities ($60-100 per month depending on the time of year).

Our Space: The available rooms are medium sized, sunny, and cozy. The house has 2.5 bathrooms (two full baths upstairs, one half bath downstairs), and you would share one of the full baths with one or two other housemates. The rest of the second level has two regular bedrooms and an office that has been converted to a bedroom. The upstairs attic is used as a bedroom as well. The downstairs communal space is comprised of a large living room perfect for hanging, a large dining room perfect for hosting, and a large kitchen perfect for crafting and munching on culinary delights!

Amenities: There’s a south facing backyard that is begging to have a raised-bed garden in the back, and current housemates are all pretty excited to start growing food. There is also a garage that can be used for storing things, and parking on the street is accommodating as long as you have DC tags. We've got cozy heat, cool central AC, a washer and dryer, and space for bikes.

Transit: We're just over a mile on foot from the Georgia Ave/Petworth Metro station, and 1.3 miles by foot or by bus from the Columbia Heights station (the 52-53-54 bus lines on 14th street all drop you off right there). We're right on the S2-S4-S9 bus line on 16th St. as well. There are a few bikeshare stations very close by. All four current housemates own bikes.

Current housemates:
Guillermo (he/him, 22) - Guillermo loves music and works at a law firm for his day job!
Dezi (35, she/her, pisces) - Dezi is an actress, a playwright, and a connoisseur of fine TV. Her day job is currently in fashion, she loves rom coms, and Asian food!
Dubian (he/him) - Dubian works at bus boys and poets and part-time as a librarian. He’s also an avid music lover, cook, and crafter.

Dezi volunteers at Martha’s Kitchen from time to time, and Dubian loves playing music! We occasionally host events such as holiday or birthday parties. While we enjoy hosting community events and hanging out with each other, we're also all very busy with day jobs and extra-curriculars. Everyone has their own room, and we give each other plenty of space.

You: We're looking for a housemate with strong energetic and personal boundaries, a creative and activist-y spirit, and a steady income. We are far from a commune, but a desire to grow food with us, contribute to house discussions/decisions, and to share in our magical, musical, queer community would be a plus! We'd prefer to live with someone who keeps daytime hours (we're usually quiet after 10) and is within our general age range (mid-to-late 20s to early-to-mid 30s). We are queer, trans, and POC friendly. We have no gender preference, but we won't tolerate toxic masculinity. Sorry, no couples, no pets.

Fine Print: We signed a 2-year lease in October of 2017. The new housemates will be taking over Kris and Aaron’s spots on the current lease (we're happy to answer your questions about that), but a security deposit of $560 is required. Ideally, we're looking for someone who would like to live with us for at least a year.

If you're interested, please send us an email with a little blurb introducing yourself and a link to your social media platforms, if you have any!

Email: housebats@gmail.com
Less
Report

Bedroom: 4
Bathroom: 3
Availability: Available Now
Amenities: Air Conditioning, Heating, Shared Patio/Balcony, Wifi
Pets: No Pets Allowed
Parking: Street Parking
Laundry: Washer & Dryer in Unit
Roommate(s) Age Preference: 25-30, 30-35
Location:
16th st and Buchanan St. NW Washington, DC United States 20011
About the service provider

Clinical psychologist-in-training, moving to St. Louis for residency year!



    • Reply from:
      images